Econ Collapse/Prep basics pt 1

I have been corresponding with a reader by email and thought I should put my thoughts out there for my readers, I was part of the ‘prepper’ movement back when only the ‘fringe’ knew what it was, alex jones etc.

I came to these conclusions mostly through a leftist lens (ironic I know) about the environmental degradation and oil depletion.  There are a lot of issues leftists realize and if taken to logical extreme would turn them into preppers, but the dislike the idea of guns and bunkering in.  Yet you see a lot living ‘off grid’ growng lettuce and stuff.

Anyway, I used to think we would get hit by a fast apocalypse, nuclear, biologic, EMP, etc.  It can always happen but realisitic we are on a long road down, and it will just keep getting worse.  Drive through non-big cities and see the devestation everywhere.

So I will list what you need first, and next post I will go into details why:

1 gal of water per person per day, at least 30 days

food for 30 days

Rifle, pistol, shotgun, ideally 1000 rounds for each

Water filters

backup fuel – propane, kerosene etc

metals – gold/silver

gas mask

 

This is off the top of my head, I’ll explain more next time.  You get these and you are ahead of about 98% of people.

 

10 thoughts on “Econ Collapse/Prep basics pt 1

  1. Are you still a prepper, or have you given it up? I have a bet with another for “no collapse”. The system has too much control to allow it.

  2. The old style survivalism is gay. I too was corrupted by it for a long time.

    Is that where you want to be when shit gets real? Huddled in your house, eating canned junk, shaking and afraid? ….Or, would YOU rather be doing the raping and pillaging?

    FP opened my eyes to this idea: Be a Raider. I want to be the one filling up carts and carts full of free crap.

      • My! I’m offended. Have you learned nothing from my “action without permission” articles?

        The state has the monopoly on violence. Most people give them that, in all forms.

        I don’t see survivalists discussing the fact that every raider they shoot, is a homicide. It’s illegal. The cops will haul them to court and charge them with murder, every time.

        Shooting a paper target is not the same as shooting a person. Survivalists don’t know how to “get away with it.” They error in that. Only cops and soldiers have a license to kill.

        It takes a special man to work outside the system and their laws. You’re wrong – most, even during a “collapse”, are still beholden to those laws. This is why I’ve given up on the vast majority of survivalist gurus. Not one of them can kill without permission. Not one – some are soldiers, or were Special Forces, and others cops.

          • Nope. Lambs don’t turn into lions. It’s not “the law” holding them back.

            How many people, do you know, that could do those things without permission?

            We are speaking of “criminal acts.” And it takes years to develop those skills. Look at all our DAAs, getting caught, going for too much too soon. Look at all the soldiers and piggies who get caught, trying to act without orders.

  3. “Econ Collapse”?, as if the world wasn’t shitty enough we need more blogs polluting it. “…some men aren’t looking for anything logical, like money. They can’t be bought, bullied, reasoned, or negotiated with. Some men just want to watch the world burn.” – That man is you.

Leave a Reply

