Learn how to move again – And remove low back pain

This is an update to a prior post on anterior pelvic tilt / lordosis that basicly plagues every single person wheter you know it or not. You wont know it until your back gets progressively worse and you think its just ‘getting older.’ Here’s the old post: http://wp.me/p2YaVQ-j1

This is an update because I STOPPED doing certain things, and I got fucked up bad, I had a trip to the hospital – which I plan on never going again, hospitals are such a joke – and it renewed my vigor to fix this.  It was so bad I was paralyzed in pain, and the xray showed the start of osteropytes on my spine.  Its about a month and half later and I very rarely have pain now, I learned some from my last post.

Basicly: by sitting (which we do far too much now) does the following: it tightens your hip flexors, and your hamstrings/glutes tend to get weaker.  What this causes is your tight hips/quads and weak hamstrings pulls your hips down in front, up in back and grinds your back down.

Further, conventional wisdom is: stretch hamstrings and do squats.  Both of these will fuck you up even worse.  Your hamstrings likely ARE tight, but its your body trying to compensate by pulling your hips back down, do not stretch these.  Squats WILL work your butt, but it works your quads much much more, therefore makes the problem worse.

What you need to do:

Passively stretch hip flexors: This one is huge, you need to be in a lunge-like posistion, one foot against the wall or couch https://paleobug.files.wordpress.com/2013/07/img_1292.jpg?w=584

Idealy you want something under your torso like a ball or pillows so you can passively rest here, try to go for 5 min a day.

Build up hamstrings and glutes:

The absolute best way to do these is drop the weight and start over.  Exercises like single leg split squats are highly recommended: Bulgarian Split Squat

This will target your glutes and hamstrings.

 

Learn to load your hamstrings!

What I mean by this, is when you bend down, do it by sticking your butt out and leaving your back straight, you will feel a tight pull on hamstrings, this is exactly what you want.  Unintuitively it may seem this loads your back: https://eruditeknight.files.wordpress.com/2015/02/85e88-stiff-leg-deadlift-image.jpg?w=584

but is the right way as forces on your back are minimized and abs/hamstrings take the load.

Sleep right:

I think this one was huge for me, I used to sleep in fetal or on stomach all the time, and wake up sore.  You basically need at least 1 leg completely straight at all times, so either on your back, or a modified side pose.

Pic sucks, but thats the idea.  This way your back is not in a lordotic position, and your other leg is stretching your hip flexor.

 

Anyway lot of info here.  If you suffer from ANY lower back pain, try these out and see if it helps.  It will take at least 2 weeks before you see consistent improvement.  If confused ask and I’ll help.

16 thoughts on “Learn how to move again – And remove low back pain

  1. Pingback: Learn how to move again – And remove low back pain | Manosphere.com

  2. 38 yo here, I don’t remember having problems you describe. Well, but I have to work physically (how much depends on the season, of course) everyday, so too much sitting is not a problem. On the other hand: carpal tunnel syndrome, some fucked up lumbar spine’s intervertebral discs, sore joints from heavy, repetitive exertion, an old right elbow injury….

  3. My 2 cents on this topic:

    My experience: I’m 31 and I’ve been having problems with my back my entire life. First there was pain in the thoracic part of the spine during my teen years, then came the lumbar around 25. I tried all kinds of things and the only thing that worked for a long period of time are various exercises for strengthening lower back muscles (and with that, glutes and hamstrings). I’m a pretty active guy (running, boxing, cycling), but no matter what I do or do not do, every few months the pain comes back – it is better than it was, but still lasts for a couple of days and is annoying.

    My conclusion is: there is no single cause for lower back pain. There are various factors involved – from bad genes and bad posture to mechanical injuries or even catching a really cold wind with a wet shirt on. Every diagnosis and treatment should be individualized.

    Anyway, I’ll give your advice a try. Will report in a couple of weeks.

  4. Thanks. I don’t have back issues yet.

    I’m sorry you had to go to the hospital. American hospitals always make it worse. Probably they tried to sell some surgery to you.

    A comrade said to imagine tying a board to your back when going SLDs. If you can go down really far, you’re doing them wrong. You push the ass back, not the body down.

  5. Awesome blog, man. Been lurking for a few months now, you’ve opened my eyes to a lot of things and taught me to better look at the world in a more objective way, free of the PC bullshit. Always looking forward to your next post.

    Anyways, I find it ironic/sad that you’ve identified and provided a plan for something that’s afflicted me for years, while no other person or organization in my life (and I’ve seen a few chiropracters) has been able to steer me down the path of recovery. My question to you is how important is building up ab strength to curing lordosis/bad posture? Also, you mentioned that some muscles may either be tight/strong or loose/weak depending on the person — is there a way I can test this to find out which of my muscles are weak and which are strong?

      • Eh, I’d do it only residually as other exercsies, the problem its its too strong in relation, so look up ‘romanian deadlifts’ do those, and barbell hip thrusts, those will get you going.

    • Hey man thanks for the comment, hope you stick around. Yeah, I have nearly completely lost faith in organized medicine (among other ‘organized’ anythings)

      to your question:
      The reality is that if you sit alot its more than likely a too-tight/strong low back, too weak hamstrings. In my experience tight hip flexors and weak abs also matter, but not nearly as much.

      The major test of tight hip flexor is to lay on your back with both knees in chest, then let one leg down, if you can get it to touch without your back coming up your hip flexors are not SUPER tight, then the next test is to stand against a wall, touch your feet, your butt, your should blades and head, and see the gap in low back, it should be nearly non-existant, if its not you know you got problems.

      I did a LOT of stretching without proactive weight training and it didn’t really help. I think it assists, but you absolutely have to get hip thrusts/ hamstring exercises going.

Leave a Reply

