Martial Arts, Girls, and violence

They cant kick ass that’s for sure

Most marital arts are total shit.  Most girls are not badass.  Now that that is stated, lets get to explaining.

I saw some video on youtube of a girl supposedly doing Aikido, and all these guys were lauding her for how badass and also how hot she was.  The hotness was debatable, but what was not is the ‘badassness’.  People were lining up for staged takedowns, and her holding a sword was so blatantly wrong I could not watch the whole thing, but you know what this was, was just standard fantasy most people, and women specifically live in.

They don’t want to hear the world is violent, they dont want to hear that survival often comes down to luck, they dont want to hear that their black belt means shit.

What is interesting, is I think the delusion is different for both sexes.  Girls almost universally believe that if they only knew a ‘secret technique’ or took a few classes they could stand against legions of rapists.  They could kick ass like these false heroines on tv.  Males are a lot more prone to thinking they at least need to do ‘something’ before ass-kicking powers become theirs, like get a black belt, but few realize this too is an illusion.

What no one wants to hear, feminists and delusional guys (and lets be honest here, that is like 90% of guys and 99% of girls) that violence is gritty, bloody, and not at all ‘fun’.  Things like high kicks, hands by your hips (like most traditional martial arts) judo throws, arm bars, joint locks…all of it is completely useless and the more you know of this, the higher chance you pay dearly for your ‘knowledge’.

I think traditional martial arts for ‘defense’ are about the worst possible thing you can do for yourself.  Practicing for about 5 minutes on how to activate your pepper spray would be more useful.  Now…that being said all these MMA styles that have popped up the last 10 years they are MARGINALLY better, if only because you actually hit hard and have some inkling of a fight.

But those guys are equally delusional.  They fight with RULES!  Sure it is ‘no holds barred’ but that is not really true, and there are a multitude of things ‘barred’.  First, you are in a clean, well-lit ring, and you KNOW you are about to get into a fight…all of which are not true on the street.  How is the standard MMA guy going to react when he gets attacked randomly from behind, when someone bends down and throws sand in his eyes blinding him, when MMA guy tackles someone and gets a knife in his side while he is going for a submission?

Now…let me say some things, Traditional MA are really good for discipline, for spirituality etc.  I first took Tae Kwon Do when I was in 5th grade.  I will tell you with, that gave me some surprising discipline, I was cutting my nails short, my hair was an even length, I opened the door for my parents, for being 10 thats pretty damn good.  Getting my orange belt was a big accomplishment, but a few months later my instructor was in jail for child abuse…he was not in it for a higher truth, and apparently he wasnt even in it for the money, he was in it for little kids.  When I was older and came to find out the rash case of ‘McDojos’ who’s instructors were only in it for money etc. lets say I was not surprised.

When I was older, late high school and beyond I was really lucky to find a random guy who was trying to start a martial art club.  To explain it succinctly, it was very much like a typical MMA place, punches, kicks, grappling, but there was always a bit extra that was ‘you cant do this in a ring but…’  Biting, crotch attacks, eye gouges etc.

I got my ass kicked a lot.  I am convinced that is about the only way to really learn.  Practice was hard, first thing we did was jump rope 10 minutes straight.  We would often have 2 or 3 on 1s.  You learn how to really fight in these situations, you dont stand toe to toe, I will tell you that much.  More like hit and run when you can.  I remember the single biggest hit I took was when I got shoved hard into a wall, and my teacher dashed at me, ramming me and hitting me in my stomach, as I bent forward, he grabbed my head and kneed me to hard it nearly knocked me out, my nose erupted in blood and he let me drop to the floor where I moaned in pain, and could have been dead in a real fight.

Anyway, thats about a START of what it takes to understand violence and that reality and fantasy are no where close.  Does getting kneed in the face sound fun?  I think another thing is people think you become fearless, I actually am near paranoid when I am out in a city at night, because I know how fast it can all be over no matter how ‘good’ you are.  I say this as a warning to any of my readers lest feminist and grandiose delusions get them killed.

*

Here is a good picture, oh this girl is so badass right!?  She could kick my head off!

I find this way more hot than serious

I have always wanted to do a girl while she was doing the splits, that it incredibly hot.  Both standing, and cowboy style.  Slipping it to her in a pose like this = hot

Something I really like (actually I despise the ‘logic’) is when feminists are like ‘I am sure there is a girl somewhere in this world can beat you at X’, where X is the topic at hand ‘can beat you at fighting, can out run you, out think you etc.’  Or the ‘well Olympian so and so can run way faster than you, so that proves girls are just as good or better as guys!”.

Well yes, but can the BEST girl beat the BEST guy?  No.  End of discussion.

Are there girls out there that can kick my ass?  Certainly, there are probably a 1,000.  But you know what, fights have a very high level of randomness in it, a lot of people do not realize this unless you are fight or have fought in any capacity.  One of my favorite quotes goes something like ‘You may be able to beat my 9 out of 10 times, but we will fight only once.’ (If you know exact quote please tell me)

Bullshit martial arts piss me off, it is in the same vein as feminists of this delusion that they are better than reality.  Martial artists think they are invincible, feminists think their value approaches infinity the more pounds they put on.  Feminism has currently infected our society enough that a lot of these delusions are allowed to continue for now, but just because they are continuing does NOT make them a fact.

33 thoughts on “Martial Arts, Girls, and violence

    • Lol! Emma.

      I hate bullsh*t martial arts, too EK. Most martial arts places are the equivalent of college diploma mills…”give me money, I’ll give you a new belt”. It’s ridiculous. I took tae kwon do at a very good dojo when I was in sixth grade. My husband took a couple of years in highschool at an excellent place, too. We’ve tried to find a good one for our sons, but it’s hard. Especially with all the moves. Last place was the worst, ever (Alamogordo, NM). There were six year old black belts. There were obese adult black belts. It was a total joke.

      And you’re also right about “reality” and a fight. Not so long ago, boys used to fight all of the time (smear the queer games, et al). It was good exercise and gave them practical experience. Litigation killed it, I guess.

  1. EK, you should track down a book called “Angry White Pajamas” by Robert Twigger. It’s about this tweedy British professor type who decides to join the Tokyo Riot Police’s infamously brutal year-long aikido training course.

    As far as personal defense goes, a little self-awareness works wonders. My last few years in New York City I lived in the Kingsbridge section of the Bronx. (Cue shrieks of horror from lefty white folk: “THE BRONX?! Isn’t that DANGEROUS?! Aren’t you SCARED?!”) I was in the theatre racket, so I’d often come home on the subway, by myself, at midnight or later.
    Looking around you, making eye contact with all the people in your vicinity, and striding confidently works a treat. No earphones, no stopping and rummaging, no aimless shuffling. Don’t make yourself an easy target.

    I lived in NYC for thirty years and was not mugged or assaulted once.

      • Ok, feeling like an old fogey now.

        Wishlists are how I used to express my appreciation/thanks to bloggers whose writing I enjoyed. Maybe it’s not done much anymore?

        I have a link to my Amazon wishlist on my site, and also had one at my old blog a decade ago. I got about 3-4 books or CDs of appreciation from readers. I have also sent gifts to others.

        It’s just a nice gesture, barring any other way of expressing gratitude. 🙂

      • I don’t think he said they were fake so much as they could only happen under certain circumstances whereas feminists lay out everything as “victim blaming.”

        on another note…

        …there’s something I’m kind of hesitant to talk about. My sister was the victim of DV. Very serious, she had to get reconstructive surgery. The thing is, she has one of the sharpest tongues I’ve ever heard. Most the time when she’d berate me, I’d either laugh or walk out of the room. Unfortunately, she probably kept talking like that and figured other guys would would react like I did. Well, I guess her “alpha” bad boy didn’t just walk outta the room. Of course, when it came time for legal action, she still loves him… (I’m not on of the AVfM asshat’s, this guy should be in jail.)

  2. oh, yeah…

    the thing about marshal arts is they show you “combinations” and fights don’t happen that way. Brawlers who are reckless enough can outdo trained fighters any day. Someone told me a story of Jean Claude Van Dame getting his ass kicked…

      • NAWALT is the exception to the “exception rule” – a Pure Absolute, like pure water always being made of H2O.

        Ergo, NAWALT proves the exception rule as well. Absolutes are few and far between.

      • ELB, if tomorrow a woman was found who could run faster than any man currently alive (say…she was the result of determined growth hormone injections, genetic research, whatever).
        You believe this would prove women are faster than men? Seriously? Until that woman is found, men are superior but if and when that one special genetic snowflake emerges women will be the faster?

        We aren’t arguing over absolutes, we’re debating over extremes. Extremes are always falacious arguments. You’re essentially using an extreme to discredit extreme. Whether you are right or not (I think you and EK are right on this one), it’s still a fallacious debate tactic.

        • There is no logical fallacy here.

          A is generally faster than B
          C is an A
          C is likely faster than B.

          The fallacy were to occur if the final statement was C is faster than B (without ‘likely’ ‘generally’ etc)
          I already granted that there were exceptions, such as some women being faster than me, but this still falls within the construct of the argument up here.

    • The exception puts the rule on probation.

      A rule on probation has not been kicked out the door – but it is not secure. It is subject to testing.

      The proverb is originally from Latin. It doesn’t work so well in English.

      • What you’re talking about sounds more like a hypothesis.

        When I refer to “rules”, I’m talking about LAWS – things better proven than even THEORIES.

        The logic behind it is that for something to BE the exception, it is generally RARE – like every once in a thousand or more tests. Because of the RARITY of the exception, it tends to mortise the definitiveness of the rule itself.

        Ergo, “The exception PROVES the rule.”

        I don’t know what the proverb in Latin is to which you refer, but I’m pretty sure the Greeks would disagree. 😉

        • The exception proves the rule
          (If there were no rule, no exception would be needed)

          Cicero’s defense of L. Cornelius Balbo (56 B.C.) is the earliest known citation of this logic and is sometimes cited as the origin of the phrase. Balbo was accused of having been illegally granted Roman citizenship. The prosecutor pointed out that treaties with some non-Roman peoples prohibited granting them citizenship and suggested this should be inferred in Balbo’s case. Cicero replied “If the exception makes such an action unlawful, where there is no exception the action must necessarily be lawful.” (Quod si exceptio facit ne liceat, ubi necesse est licere.)

          http://alt-usage-english.org/exception_proves.html

          The exact translations from Latin to English vary, and British lawyers have been arguing about this phrase for hundreds of years.

          >” I’m pretty sure the Greeks would disagree.”

          The Greeks were not a monolithic entity. Which Greek do you cite? Aristotle? Pythagoras? Aristarchos of Samos? Are you working from someone else’s text of Greek translations, or are you reading the original ancient Greek?

          • At the risk of getting lost in a tangential matter, why would Cicero have said that? Unless you’ve misquoted him, it sounds like he SHOULD have said: “If the exception makes such an action LAWFUL (as it would have been in that case)…” unless the “some countries” the prosecutor referred to were the MINORITY of Roman allied countries, and not the general “norm”, in which case it would make sense.

            Needless to say, however, that would NOT have been the proper usage of “The exception proves the rule.” The argument you’ve listed would be something akin to “You cannot legislate what is not yet legislated.” and is a LEGAL argument, not a logical one.

            And to answer your final question, most people would assert that the truest logic was born of the Greeks. If that generalization bothers you, feel free to look up a Greek or two that might support you – I’m sure they exist, and you seem to have that kind of spare time. 😉

          • >At the risk of getting lost in a tangential matter, why would Cicero have said that?

            If you want to know “why” you can read the link I provided.

            >Needless to say, however, that would NOT have been the proper usage…

            You are not an authority on what is proper usage. You are also not citing any authority on what is proper.

            >And to answer your final question, most people would assert that the truest logic was born of the Greeks.

            My question was “Which Greek do you cite?”

            You’re not answering the questions; you’re not addressing the issues. You’re just blustering.

            You’re very good at blustering. It has probably worked very well for you in the past.

            There is, however, a difference between bluster and rhetoric, and there is also a difference between rhetoric and logic.

            >If that generalization bothers you, feel free to look up a Greek or two

            The generalization doesn’t bother me emotionally; however, if you claim that your generalization is relevant, you’re wrong.

            Obviously, I *already* feel free to look up Greeks, because I’ve cited several above.

            >I’m sure they exist, and you seem to have that kind of spare time.

            In fact, looking up an ancient Greek just takes fractions of a second – it doesn’t require a large amount of spare time, as your words suggest.

          • Having seen your blog and your anti-manosphere bent, I no longer feel inclined to validate your responses with thoughtful answers, as your lot feeds on trying to disprove Truth itself.

            You are not worthy of my time.

          • ‘If the exception makes such an action unlawful, where there is no exception the action must necessarily be lawful.”’
            What I dont like about this is it assumes something is EITHER right or wrong, not neutral.

            Here is an easy refutation: (an exception) killing in anger is wrong, so therefore the opposite, killing but not in anger is lawful?

          • >What I dont like about this is it assumes something is EITHER right or wrong, not neutral.

            Ancient Rome was a profoundly different culture, with draconian punishments. Rather than “right” and “wrong,” I think Cicero was going for “legally punishable” versus “not legally punishable.”

            Anyway, I was just pointing to Cicero as the likely origin for a common English phrase, not endorsing him as a guide to morals (although Cicero is probably not the worst guide to morals that a guy could pick).

Leave a Reply

