A typical example of sheeple thinking online

I was trying to do some research about gun control because I do not like to take things as ‘truth’ just because someone says it; in this case that the supreme court ruled essentially the right to have ammunition.  I did not find the answer to it when I came across some guys site that I rapidly realized was a typical spineless sheeple.

(I wouldn’t give this fool traffic, but just in case you want to see what I am referencing)

http://bigthink.com/risk-reason-and-reality/the-supreme-court-ruling-on-the-2nd-amendment-did-not-grant-an-unlimited-right-to-own-guns

He gets to trying to paint himself as some sort of moderate and that it is only normal to seek gun control. ‘some real hope that a reasonable middle ground may be possible as America gropes in these polarized times for a solution to gun violence’  This is the kind of shit mainstream media dumps ALL the time, it sounds like it is reasonable right?  Well shit all we hear about it guns are evil, there MUST be a a gun problem right?  We just have to find a solution.  But…if you look at the stats all gun violence, there is just not that many people killed by it.  I think something like 16000 people died from ANY gun last year, and most of it is black-on-black intercity violence.  For comparison over 1,000,000 people die from heart attacks, or about 50x the rate people get ‘gunned down’.

‘ which pretty clearly says that gun ownership was specifically preserved by the founding fathers in the interest of the common defense against a tyrannical government (remember, this was the issue on their minds back then).’

Because we ALL know governments just arent tyrannical anymore right?  That would just be insane to suggest…

Anyway, this guy is a typical ‘I trust those in power at all costs’, unfortunately this is about 90% of the populace.  What really sealed the deal was another article this guy wrote I clicked on ‘Big Brother is watching, and I feel fine’.  He goes on to say ‘78% of Americans say surveillance cameras in public places are a good idea’, I really dont give a shit if 99% of Americans think it is a good idea, he commits the all-too frequent mistake that somehow quantity of people believing something makes it true.  You know this is not really that much different than males who endlessly say how great feminism is while they get railed by it.  Just a sheep complementing his master.

But it was all right, everything was all right, the struggle was finished. He had won the victory over himself. He loved Big Brother.

 

4 thoughts on “A typical example of sheeple thinking online

  1. This was an exchange I read a while back, always comes to mind when gun control advocates speak of compromise and “reasonable discussion”. Of course this type of dialogue always dissolves into an abusive one-sided diatribe from the person claiming to be the ‘reasonable one’ so I’ll just relay the initial question and poignant response:

    “Will you continue a reasonable discussion towards an end that might lead somewhere or is this an exercise in futility?” – Gun Control Advocate

    The response:

    I hear a lot about “compromise” from your camp … except, it’s not compromise.

    Let’s say I have this cake. It is a very nice cake, with “GUN RIGHTS” written across the top in lovely floral icing. Along you come and say, “Give me that cake.”

    I say, “No, it’s my cake.”

    You say, “Let’s compromise. Give me half.” I respond by asking what I get out of this compromise, and you reply that I get to keep half of my cake.

    Okay, we compromise. Let us call this compromise The National Firearms Act of 1934.

    There I am with my half of the cake, and you walk back up and say, “Give me that cake.”

    I say, “No, it’s my cake.”

    You say, “Let’s compromise.” What do I get out of this compromise? Why, I get to keep half of what’s left of the cake I already own.

    So, we have your compromise — let us call this one the Gun Control Act of 1968 — and I’m left holding what is now just a quarter of my cake.

    And I’m sitting in the corner with my quarter piece of cake, and here you come again. You want my cake. Again.

    This time you take several bites — we’ll call this compromise the Clinton Executive Orders — and I’m left with about a tenth of what has always been MY DAMN CAKE and you’ve got nine-tenths of it.

    Then we compromised with the Lautenberg Act (nibble, nibble), the HUD/Smith and Wesson agreement (nibble, nibble), the Brady Law (NOM NOM NOM), the School Safety and Law Enforcement Improvement Act (sweet tap-dancing Freyja, my finger!)

    I’m left holding crumbs of what was once a large and satisfying cake, and you’re standing there with most of MY CAKE, making anime eyes and whining about being “reasonable”, and wondering “why we won’t compromise”.

    I’m done with being reasonable, and I’m done with compromise. Nothing about gun control in this country has ever been “reasonable” nor a genuine “compromise”.

Leave a Reply

