Why truth hurts

Humans in our present state suffer from not wanting to know the truth unless one of a few things occurred in their life to make them want to pursue it.  It is a psychological phenomenon known as ‘cognitive bias’  (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cognitive_bias).  Unless you take steps to rid yourself of this, you will never see things as they are.

The wiki is long as they usually are, but it comes down to this, we think one way, and even in the face of evidence our minds literally blank over that evidence or downplay it to the point that it simply isnt true.  It ultimately is a form of ego preservation as well as a form of reality control.  Because if at any moment something you thought you believed all your life was even considered to be wrong your mind would throw you into a tailspin and you could not function normally.  Kind of what would happen if feminists realized what they espouse has nothing to do with equality and will destroy our culture completely. (https://eruditeknight.wordpress.com/2012/12/24/feminists-do-not-understand-implications/)

What cognitive bias causes though is very insidious.  We have things like politics (which for the record I think are an utter farce, but I will talk about it later) where democrats and republicans have legitimate arguments they bring up to the other, but irregardless of which fact or which side the paradigm follows: ‘good fact 1 presented’ > cognitive bias literally does not understand implication and blanks this fact person 2’s mind> person 2: ‘counter fact 1 presented> cognitive bias blanks implications> ad nauseum

Anyone who argues politics knows exactly what I am talking about. Feminists are even worse because they have much much more ‘skin in the game’ so to say.  If their victim ideology was revealed to be the truth that it victimizes man why giving vast advantages to women their world view would fall apart.

The steps you can take to help lower your own CB are some of the following…and why most people, feminists especially will never cure themselves and allow themselves to see the truth.  The first is truly believing there is a ‘chance’ you might be wrong.  One of the most effective belief systems I have come up with in my own life is ‘I believe x,y,z, but show me sufficient evidence to the contrary and I will switch.’ And actually doing such.

I still shutter to this day recalling that my  BPD ex-girl friend once told me that of all the guys she knew, I was one of the few who understood feminists.  Disgusting.  If she could see me now her statement would be correct in a much different way, I am one of the few males who ‘understands feminists’- but in a way that would make her shriek in anger.

If you have children raise them to question everything.  They should respect authority if they deserve it, not simply because they are authority.  I would fully expect my kids to challenge teachers on ideology spewed as truth.  ‘You tell me I should girls need all these laws…but why exactly?’

Read things you do not agree with.  I know it is very hard to not get angry, or to just laugh.  But merely the exposure will broaden your horizons.

 

Lastly, I would say in general if you ever held a position, and now hold a different side to the issue you are probably on the right track, because it shows a willingness to change and you are looking at facts rather than just emotional appeals.

 

Until next time, keep your thoughts tranquil and pure

 

10 thoughts on “Why truth hurts

  1. Its excellent advice. My personal anecdote as a Christian man is that I became one at 32 years of age. I had transcended my youthful reflexive liberalism in my late 20’s, and then started on the transcendental stuff and ended up a Christian. Having all that thinking in my back story helps me to essentially keep the mind open, as cliche as that sounds.
    Its the height of frustrating to see what you describe as political discourse and indeed from both sides.
    Most people, and I am finding sadly most Christians live a life defined by certain cliches that are loosely related to scriptures. These are bedrock deep in them. The hypocrisy that results screams to be challenged. As I hear small town Baptists angrily decry “the homasexyul” all the while they cozy up to the parade of new step parents and step children and the recent relational drama that proves man bad woman good. They blank…as you say….the facts sitting right there in the room.
    I do not think many people can simply decide to change the way they think, nor can they be convinced lacking tumultuous events as a catalyst

    • That fact you demonstrate a change in opinion is something I respect. While I am not christian, anyone starting as one and never questioning in my mind is contemptible; however I completely respect someone that has gone through various beliefs structures and settled on one. It is the hypocrisy among typical religious people that was something that drove me away.

      • Knee jerk rejection of faith based on the typical cliches I here are as disturbing as anything else.
        I dislike organized religion
        I dislike moralizing
        I dislike those who claim truth
        I am a tolerant person (this one easily logically deconstructed)
        The Bible is written by old men
        etc etc

        Folks don’t want to think, so they grasp their friends cliches as source text.
        A thoughtful opinion is to be respected, these days there simply are not very many of them….and by that I do not mean to reference things I agree with….I mean anything thoughtful.

  2. I read something in the popular science news about cognitive bias that stuck with me. I wish I had a link but I don’t so bear with me. In short, the brain literally has to work harder when processing ideas that run counter to a person’s biases. Ideas that follow a person’s biases are much easier to read or listen to. Through training and practice neural pathways are laid down, and sending signals down these pathways becomes easier. Learning a new skill requires practice. It takes mental effort. This article made the suggestion that the consideration of ideas that run counter to your cognitive biases require effort similar to learning a new skill.

    This must explain why people who think alike often form echo chambers, and why it is so rare to find someone who truly listen and consider an alternative point of view. It’s just harder. Maybe they don’t want to put in the effort to learn something new. Maybe they are lazy or accustomed to not thinking for themselves.

      • It’s like you have to think harder to really listen and consider ideas that run counter to your point of view, equivalent to the mental effort required to learn a new skill. Ideas that are in line with your beliefs are easy to listen to, like doing something you already know how to do.

        Ever had that feeling when someone starts spouting off something political that you think is a load of crap and you tune them out? That’s what going on. It’s harder because your brain is wired to think the other way. It can be done, of course, but it requires focus and discipline to do so. It requires almost no focus or discipline to listen to things you already believe. They are comfortable and familiar.

        I think this has huge implications for politics and religion.

  3. I think your thoughts on cognitive bias are really profound. I always try to at least identify it where it props up in my life and started realising how many people are miserable because of their egos!

  4. That I really deep and introspective of you I say. Hmm a little more awesomeness comes shining outwards man. Very interesting and tasteful topic.

Leave a Reply

